Skip to main content
Search Results

Public Sector Catering Awards to raise money for NARF

7th Apr 2022 - 07:00
The Public Sector Catering Awards, which are taking place tonight at the London Hilton Metropole, will raise money for the Natasha Allergy Research Foundation (NARF).

Natasha’s Law, which came into effect from 1 October 2021, requires all food businesses to provide full ingredient lists and allergen labelling on foods pre-packaged for direct sale (PPDS) on the premises.

In the UK an estimated 7% of children suffer from a food allergy. While some reactions can be treated, some can be more severe or even fatal. Following Natasha’s death, Nadim and Tanya set up NARF to help people who suffer with food allergies.

Nadim and Tanya Ednan-Laperouse were one of the keynote speakers at the 2021 LACA Main Event and they recently gave at speech at the HCA Forum.

The PSC Awards will be hosting a charity raffle to raise money for NARF, which aims to create a world that is safe for all allergy sufferers. People who want to enter the raffle will need to bring cash with them and the overall grand prize is £500.

Presenter, broadcaster and journalist Jeremy Vine will host the Public Sector Catering Awards, which aim to recognise excellence of individuals, teams, companies and organisations including contract caterers operating in a public sector environment.

Full shortlist of 2022 finalists:

Armed Forces Catering Award (no nominations sought) 

  • AB (CS) Devorne Gibson - Royal Navy
  • Cpl Mostert - Army
  • Sgt Jewels Williams - Royal Air Force

Care Catering Award     

  • Anne Dudley - Hampshire County Council
  • Anwar Kajee - Country Court
  • Aaron Watson - Primrose Bank Care Home
  • Care UK Food and Hotel Services Team

Hospital Catering Award             

  • Russell Blake – Medirest
  • Raouf Mansour - Ashford & St Peters NHS Foundation Trust
  • Duncan O'Neill - Stepping Hill Hospital Stockport
  • Nicholas Roberts - Stockport NHS Foundation Trust
  • NHS Supply chain Food Provided by Foodbuy.

Special Contribution Award

  • Rhona A'Hara - Sodexo
  • Gary Kilminster & Robin Dudley - Essential Cuisine
  • Neel Radia - Bidfood
  • #EndChildFoodPoverty Coalition
  • The Case for Good School Food

Training and Apprenticeship Award       

  • Rachael Higo - Caring Cooks of Jersey
  • Forward with Marcus Wareing Programme - Compass Group
  • Kickstart Scheme at Compass
  • NHS Supply Chain: Food

Catering Manager of the Year Award

  • Sarah Bucknall - Thomas Deacon Education Trust
  • David Jones - Aramark at the University of Hertfordshire
  • Duncan O'Neill - Stepping Hill Hospital Stockport
  • Felix Tetteh - HMP Brixton
  • Brian Whitworth - HMP Bronzefield, Sodexo
  • Derek Wright - Blackpool Council

Chef of the Year Award

  • Andrew Bedwell - Millers Grange Care Home, Care UK
  • Chris Cunningham - Royal Holloway, University of London
  • Alex Moody - Park Community School
  • Darren Passmore - Compass Group
  • Aaron Watson - Primrose Bank Care Home

Sustainability Award

  • Nigel Craine - Lancashire County Council
  • East Ayrshire Council Catering Team
  • ESS
  • Source Catering at the University of Bristol
  • The University of St Andrews

Unsung Hero Award

  • Chris Llewellyn & The Bevy Volunteers
  • Alyson Marsh - Educaterers Ltd
  • Andrea Moore - London Borough of Waltham Forest
  • Helen Turner - West Sussex County Council

Catering College Award

  • Greg Cheeseman - Eastleigh College
  • Graham Taylor - Cambridge Regional College
  • Hospitality & Professional Cookery Team - Edinburgh College

Contract Caterer of the Year Award

  • Cleverchefs
  • Elior UK
  • Enfield Council Catering Services
  • ESS

Innovation Award          

  • ESS
  • Quality Assurance Catering Team - East Ayrshire Council
  • Steve Jones - NEWydd Catering and Cleaning
  • The University of Sheffield
  • Torfaen School Catering

Team of the Year Award             

  • Maxine Cartz, Helen Ream, Heather Dolan - Medirest
  • Duncan O'Neill - Stepping Hill Hospital Stockport
  • The Chartwells Nutrition Team
  • Sodexo Colchester Team
  • The University of St Andrews

Education Catering Award

  • Michelle Perry - Taylor Shaw
  • The Sandbach School Catering Team
  • Thomas Deacon Education Trust
  • Ysgol Gyfun Gwynllyw Comprehensive School

Health and Nutrition Award

  • Mandy Davies - Elior UK
  • Anwar Kajee - Country Court
  • Duncan O'Neill - Stepping Hill Hospital Stockport
  • ESS
  • OCS and Super Wellness

Marketing Award

  • Zoe Gill – Brakes
  • Emily Reeves - Cypad
  • OCS and Super Wellness
  • University of Kent Catering Department

University Catering Award

  • Gagan Kapoor - Loughborough University
  • Amanda Pettingill - University of Nottingham
  • King's Food Team
  • Leicester Services Partnership
  • Source Catering at the University of Bristol
Written by
Edward Waddell