Skip to main content
Search Results

HCA announces shortlist for annual awards

17th Mar 2020 - 07:00
The Catering Strategy Team from NHS Greater Glasgow & Clyde won the Catering Service of the Year award
The Hospital Caterers Association (HCA), national trade body of hospital caterers, has announced the shortlist for its annual awards ceremony that will take place at the HCA Forum in Liverpool on 2 April 2020.

The HCA awards seek to recognise ‘outstanding commitment and dedication’ in healthcare catering and patient service. New for 2020 is the National Leadership Excellence award, which was created to champion and celebrate leaders within the industry.  

The NHS is the UK's largest catering industry serving over 300 million meals every year. The HCA aims to promote the standard of catering in hospitals and healthcare establishments. 

Craig Smith, chair of the HCA, said: “We are always so impressed by the calibre of the entries. This year we found it particularly difficult to choose from so many great nominees, so I want to say a huge congratulations to our finalists.”

The HCA has 15 branches nationally and a membership of over 400 people. 

The finalists include: 

Catering Service of the Year (sponsored by NH Case):

  • Deborah McNeil for Acute Catering South Eastern Trust
  • Stuart Donald for Aberdeen Royal Infirmary & Royal Aberdeen Children’s Hospital
  • Nicola McIvor for NHS Ayrshire & Arran

Efficiency & Improvement Award (sponsored by Hefma)

  • Tony O’Hara for South Eastern Trust
  • Chris Neale/Nicola Strawther for Nottingham University Hospitals NHS Trust
  • Joe Gilbey for NHS Greater Glasgow & Clyde
  • Catering Strategy Team for NHS Greater Glasgow & Clyde 

National Leadership Excellence Award

  • Mrs Karen McLaughlin for Northern Health & Social Care Trust
  • Chris Neale for Nottingham University Hospitals NHS Trust

The winners for all other awards, Special Recognition Award, Caterer of the Year, Wilma Wilkie Award, Rising Star, Chairman’s Choice and Trade Stand awards, will be announced on the night. 

Written by
Edward Waddell