Skip to main content
Search Results

NACC Awards to celebrate care catering excellence

24th Jun 2022 - 07:00
The National Association of Care Catering (NACC) has launched their 2022 Awards, which aim to recognise excellence, innovation and outstanding contributions within the care catering sector.

Everyone working in or associated with the care catering sector is encouraged to enter and ‘shine a light’ on the teams and individuals that go above and beyond to deliver exceptional service every day – from care homes, Meals on Wheels services and Lunch Clubs to suppliers to the sector.

The winners of these awards will be presented during the Training & Development Forum on Thursday 6 October at the East Midlands Conference Centre in Nottingham. The awards offer people the chance to nominate their heroes within care catering to celebrate and recognise their achievements over the past 12 months.

The awards are open to all NACC members and all entries should be completed by Friday 15 July. To nominate you must submit a paper or email summary of no more than 1,000 words to identify how the candidate meets or exceeds the evaluation criteria of the category chosen.

Sue Cawthray, national chair of the NACC, says: “Across the country people in care catering work innovatively and tirelessly to deliver excellence and enhance the quality of the lives of the people they support, and it’s important that we recognise and celebrate their inspirational work.

“I know for a fact that we have many examples of outstanding contributions within our sector. I encourage all our members to enter the NACC Awards 2022 and give the amazing care catering teams and individuals the recognition they deserve.”

The Care Establishment of the Year Award winner will have demonstrated their meals and beverage deliver choice as well as meeting the dietary and nutritional needs of individuals. The judges for the Meals on Wheels Award will be looking at whether nominees meet nutritional and hydration needs, what added benefits they supply and how they raised the profile of the service.

The Catering Team of the Year Award will be presented to a team who has shown outstanding achievement in their field during the past year. The Catering Manager of the Year will be given to an individual who has demonstrated exceptional leadership qualities.

New for 2022, The Bev Puxley Award (in memory of Bev Puxley who passed away earlier this year) will be presented to a care chef who has made a significant contribution to the enhancement of care catering within their workplace. The Our Care Catering Hero Award winner needs to showcase how they have gone above and beyond their regular day duties.

Nominations for the Region of the Year Award should be submitted by the regional committee and are required to highlight the successful operation of the region. The Pam Rhodes Outstanding Achievement Award (not available for nomination) recipient will have shown exceptional standard of care, compassion and professionalism as well as gaining the respect of the wider industry.

The National Chair’s Award is given to an organisation or individual who in the opinion of the chair has displayed exceptional commitment over a number of years or made an outstanding individual contribution to the NACC.

For more information, visit here

Written by
Edward Waddell