Skip to main content
Search Results

Owen Sidaway wins Lifetime Achievement honour at PSC Awards

9th Sep 2021 - 23:47
Owen Sidaway wins Lifetime Achievement honour at PSC Awards
The 2021 Public Sector Catering Awards, which took place last night (9 September) at the London Hilton Metropole, celebrated 18 award winners including Owen Sidaway who won the Lifetime Achievement Award for his service to prison catering.

Sidaway joined what was then called Her Majesty’s Prisons Catering Services as regional catering manager in 2000. He served as a regional catering manager for 38 prisons in across south west England and Wales, and then, in 2011, he was appointed head of prison catering.

In the following eight years he was responsible for national policy, daily planning and strategic management for 128 prisons, eight detention and immigration centres. This meant he ran an operation that fed 84,000 prisoners, serving more than 90 million meals a year and running a £95m annual budget.

In 2019 he took partial retirement as the project and programme lead for HMPPS (Her Majesty’s Prison and Probation Service) Catering, though he remains involved in helping to deliver meals to prisoners in England and Wales.

It was a successful night for the prison service as Lee Jaszczuk from HMP Berwyn received the Unsung Hero Award and Steve Johnson from HMP Ranby won the Health and Nutrition Award.

All of the winners in this year’s Public Sector Catering Awards will have cause to be grateful during the pandemic for the work done by their suppliers. Bidfood and Brakes jointly received the Industry Recognition Award. They are normally competitors in the marketplace but they put aside rivalries to make a joint effort to help up to 1.5m vulnerable people.

Elsewhere Mark Lewis, chief executive of industry charity Hospitality Action, won the Special Contribution Award for helping to distribute emergency funding to the most vulnerable people affected by the Covid-19 pandemic.

Gyles Brandreth was the host of the PSC Awards night, which was attended by over 600 people from the public sector catering industry.

The full list of this year’s winners:

Armed Forces Caterer of the Year Award (Sponsored by Gourmet Classic)

Winner: SSgt Marc Wrangham - Army


Care Catering Award (Sponsored by Lakeland Dairies)

Winner: Sunrise of Sonning Catering Team - Sunrise Senior Living


Catering College Award (Sponsored by Quorn Foods)

Winner: Graham Taylor - Cambridge Regional College


Catering Manager of the Year Award (Sponsored by Around Noon)

Winner: Andrew Mussett - Care UK


Chef of the Year Award (Sponsored by Welbilt UK)

Winner: Sarah Copp - Caring Cooks of Jersey


Contract Caterer of the Year Award (Sponsored by Unilever Food Solutions)

Winner: Restaurant Associates


Education Catering Award (Sponsored by Premier Foods)

Winner: Juniper Ventures Limited


Health and Nutrition Award (Sponsored by Bidfood)

Winner: Steve Johnson - HMPPS, HMP Ranby


Hospital Catering Award (Sponsored by PHS Group)

Winner: Tim Radcliffe - East Lancashire Hospitals NHS Trust


Innovation Award (Sponsored by Youngs Foodservice)

Winner: Country Court Care


Marketing Award (Sponsored by Bewley’s Tea & Coffee)

Winner: Meals on Wheels Week 2020 - NACC


Special Contribution Award (Sponsored by Middleton Foods)

Winner: Mark Lewis - Hospitality Action


Sustainability Award (Sponsored by Meiko UK)

Winner: CATERed Limited


Team of the Year Award (Sponsored by Essential Cuisine)

Winner: Blackpool Council Catering Services


Training and Apprenticeship Award (Sponsored by Brakes)

Winner: John Loughton - Scran Academy SCIO


University Catering Award (Sponsored by TUCO)

Winner: Annabel Hurst - Cardiff University


Unsung Hero Award (Sponsored by Civica)

Winner: Lee Jaszczuk - HMPPS, HMP Berwyn


Lifetime Achievement Award (Sponsored by Hobart UK)

Winner: Owen Sidaway


Industry Recognition Award

Winner: Bidfood

Industry Recognition Award

Winner: Brakes

Written by
Edward Waddell