Skip to main content
Search Results

Public Sector Catering Awards to raise funds for Springboard Charity

3rd Apr 2024 - 07:00
Public Sector Catering Awards to raise funds for Springboard Charity
The Public Sector Catering Awards, which aim to celebrate the work of individuals and teams who have ‘gone above and beyond’ to provide excellence in catering within the sector, will raise funds for The Springboard Charity.

The Awards highlight the great work of people in schools, hospitals, the care sector, universities, catering colleges, prisons and the military. The Public Sector Catering Awards will take place on Thursday 4th April 2024 at the London Hilton Metropole. 

The Springboard Charity supports young people into jobs in the hospitality industry via its employability training programmes that includes one-to-one mentoring, access to work experience placements and CV building.

Attendees who want to enter the raffle will need to bring cash with them. The overall grand prize is a one night stay for two people including dinner in the Grand Hotel Birmingham. 

This year’s Public Sector Catering Awards will be presented by radio and television presenter Colin Murray. His credits include Countdown, EFL on Quest, Match of the Day 2, Fighting Talk and BBC Radio 1. 

The sponsors for the Public Sector Catering Awards include: Ecolog, Cereal Partners, Young’s Foodservice, Rational, Unox, Lockhart Aggora, Premier Foods, Bidfood, Pelican Procurement, Birds Eye Foodservice & Green Cuisine, Unilever Food Solutions, Wafflemeister, Apetito, Middleton Foods, Essential Cuisine, Brakes, TUCO Foundation and Civica. 

A shortlist of nominated finalists has been unveiled for 17 of the 18 award categories with the Lifetime Achievement Award given out on the night itself, where over 600 industry colleagues will celebrate the winners.

The Lifetime Achievement Award is a tribute to a person or organisation that has made a significant contribution to the catering industry over a long period of time. 

The full shortlisted finalists are:

Armed Forces (no nominations sought)

  • Sgt Tracey Smith - Royal Air Force
  • Pte Sachita Tamang - British Army
  • POCS Cat Taylor - Royal Navy

Care Catering Award         

  • Aaron Derbyshire - Rose Court Care Home, HC-One
  • Rachel Keys - HC-One
  • Jane Mardle - TNS Catering - Friends of the Elderly
  • Eleanor MacPherson - Balcarres Care Home, HC-One
  • Ben Smith - Averill House Care Home, HC-One
  • Care UK Food and Hotel Services
  • Edgbaston Manor Catering Team - Care UK

Catering College Award    

  • John Holden - South Cheshire College
  • Cambridge Regional College
  • North Warwickshire and South Leicestershire College
  • University College Birmingham

Catering Manager of the Year Award           

  • June Cormie - Education Catering
  • Amanda Gunn - NYES Catering (North Yorkshire Council)
  • Jody Marshall - Meallmore Limited
  • Nuno Matias - Royal Brompton Hospital
  • Jacqui Osgood - Greenshaw Learning Trust
  • Costas Papaioakim - Sodexo
  • Kimberly Sloan - East Ayrshire Council

Chef of the Year Award

  • Kath Breckon - NYES Catering (North Yorkshire Council)
  • Saverio Cordaro - Ardingly College
  • Ravikkanth Kanthiya - Royal Holloway, University of London
  • Tony Murphy – ESS
  • Stuart Pelham - Llys Cyncoed, Care UK
  • Gary Periti - Sodexo UK & Ireland

Contract Caterer of the Year Award  

  • Cleverchefs
  • ESS
  • OCS
  • Signature Dining Ltd

Education Catering Award

  • AiP
  • Downham Market Academy Catering Team
  • Impact Food Group
  • Priory School Catering Team - SENDAT
  • The Pantry (UK) Limited
  • Waltham Forest Catering

Health and Nutrition Award           

  • Louise Goodall - OCS
  • Caterlink Nutrition Team
  • Food Review Expert Panel
  • Healthy Zones Programme - School Food Matters
  • King's Food Team - King's College London

Hospital Catering Award

  • Alan and James Dougan - NHS Greater Glasgow & Clyde
  • Dawn Palmer - Northumbria Healthcare Facilities Management
  • Maeth Central Production Unit - NHS Wales
  • Nottingham University Hospitals NHS Trust
  • Royal Brompton and Harefield Hospitals
  • Royal Free Hospital Property Services Catering

Innovation Award             

  • Autocanteen Ltd
  • Cool Food Pro
  • East Riding Catering Services (ERCS)
  • ESS
  • Magic Breakfast
  • Compass Group One Retail Team

Marketing Award              

  • Colm Bradley - Education Authority
  • Brakes
  • Harrogate Neighbours Meals on Wheels Service
  • Shire Services

Special Contribution Award            

  • Robin Dudley & Gary Kilminster - Essential Cuisine
  • Nick Vadis - NHS Supply Chain: Food
  • Feed the Future Campaign - The Food Foundation

Sustainability Award         

  • Cardiff Met University
  • East Ayrshire Council Catering Team
  • King's Food Team - King's College London
  • University of Birmingham Food, Beverage, and Retail Team

Team of the Year Award   

  • Britten Court, Care UK
  • City Catering Southampton Cooking at Home Team
  • East Ayrshire Senior Catering Management Team
  • ESS Operation Golden Orb Team
  • Sodexo and DIO teams based in Cyprus
  • Tower Hamlets Universal Free School Meal (UFSM) Project Team

Training and Apprenticeship Award             

  • Andrew Cullum - Avery Healthcare 
  • Alex Wilcock - Sodexo
  • Mathew Shropshall - UCB College of Food
  • Education Catering, Cardiff Council

University Catering Award              

  • Durham University
  • King's Food Team - King's College London
  • Loughborough University
  • Queen's University Belfast
  • University of Edinburgh

Unsung Hero Award

  • Dale Campbell - Brooke Weston Trust
  • Lisa Connellan - King's College London
  • Fiona Murray - East Ayrshire Council
  • Michael Taylor - Sodexo
Written by
Edward Waddell